Other Ideas 16:13


Limited Edition CD Available Here:

San Diego percussionist and composer, Nathan Hubbard, culls together his Skeleton Key Orchestra, for their sophomore effort, Furiously Dreaming. Gathering together a staggering 49 of Southern California’s most ambitious creative musicians, this epic 2-disc achievement is a swirling, seductive, mind-bending sonic array mixing avant-garde jazz and electronica, poetry, and quite literally, the music of dreams.


released May 20, 2016

Nathan Hubbard/Skeleton Key Orchestra
Furiously Dreaming

Ellen Weller - soprano saxophone, Bb clarinet, flute, piccolo
David Borgo - soprano and tenor saxophone, alto flute
Adnan Marquez - alto saxophone, flute, electronics, engineer
Dick McGuane - alto and tenor saxophone, Bb clarinet
Jason Robinson - tenor saxophone, Bb clarinet, alto flute, electronics
Andrew Pask - baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
Derek Cannon, Kris Tiner - trumpet, flugelhorn
Karl Soukup - trumpet, flugelhorn, piccolo trumpet
Sean Francis Conway - trumpet, didgeridoo
Jeff Kaiser - quarter tone trumpet, electronics
Kelley Elliott - horn
Michael Dessen, Dwight Dillon - trombone
Brandon Jagow - bass trombone, electric bass
Ernesto Botello, Jonathan Piper - tuba
Nazo Zakkak - piano + preparations, electric organ, pipe organ, synth
Rick Helzer, Bob Weller - piano
Scott Paulson - harp
Joe Bigham, Samuel Lopez, Tom McNally, Marcelo Radulovich - electric guitar/electronics
Jon Garner - nylon string acoustic guitar, electric guitar/electronics
Kristopher Apple, Gascia Ouzounian, Sunshine Vortigern - violin
Carolyn Tyler, Sarah Paik - cello
Justin Grinnell - acoustic bass, acoustic bass guitar, electric bass/electronics
Harley Magsino - acoustic bass, electric bass + guitar/electronics
Scott Walton - acoustic bass, piano
Marcos Fernandes, David Hurley - hand drums, percussion
Nate Atwood - drumkit, handclaps, electronics
Jon Szanto - percussion, vibraphone
Curtis Glatter - drumkit, percussion
Jeanette Kangas - drumkit, marimba
Nathan Hubbard - conducting, drumkit, frame 1/electronics/samples/drum machine, hand drums, percussion, mallets, piano/synth/wurlitzer, timpani, engineer, etc.
Shadowfigure - drumkit, handclaps, drum loops, e drums, sound design
DJ Tenshun - turntables/electronics
Robert M - electronics
Nina Leilani - voice, tack piano
Greg Buhlert, Rafter Roberts, Molly Whittaker - voice
Roger Aplon, Sister Rez - poetry
Steve Langdon - engineer
Kirsten Callais - 2nd engineer

The Valley of Discovery Chorus - Kristopher Apple, Nate Atwood, Joe Bigham, Greg Buhlert, David Borgo, Kirsten Callais, Sean Francis Conway, Nina Leilani, Michael Dessen, Daniela Druhora, Kelley Elliott, b Suzanne Gage, Jon Garner, Justin Grinnell, Christopher Given Harrison, Rick Helzer, Kelly Hubbard, Nathan Hubbard, Brandon Jagow, Jeanette Kangas, Steve Langdon, Harley Magsino, Dick McGuane, Rafter Roberts, Jason Robinson, Scott Walton, Ellen Weller, Molly Whittaker, Nazo Zakkak.

- solos -
Crows On The Roof
- Obscuricon, Michael, Wormhole + Roger, Nazo -
Mirror Forgot
- Orchestra, Andrew, Orchestra, Glatter/Hubbard, Scott, Tiner-Michael-Joe -
- Roger, Sister Rez -
And We All Fall Down
- Jason, Karl, Harley, Adnan, Tenshun -
Furiously Dreaming
- strings, Derek, Andrew, Orchestra + VODC -
Other Ideas
- Ellen, Sean, Borborygmus, Kaiser, BAOE -
the owl of brittany road (specter of the late late night)
- Nathan + Orchestra, Dick, Tiner/Tom/Justin, ARC Trio -
Skeleton Key Theme
- Michael, Ogd_S(11) Translation Has Failed, Borgo -

All compositions/lyrics/arrangements copyright Nathan Hubbard - Castor & Pollux Music 2009
The poetry of Sister Rez and Roger Aplon are their own.
Produced, Edited and Mixed by Nathan Hubbard
Mastered by Steve Langdon, Langdon Productions

Recorded December 30th 2007 - December 30th 2010 in San Diego County CA USA - at - Termite Studio, San Diego State University, Singing Serpent, St. Francis School for the Gifted Trombonist, DPH Studios, Langdon Productions and Palomar College.
Adnans solo on And We All Fall Down was recorded on the other side of the world. Portions of sleep:dream:silence were recorded Summer 2005.

Christopher Adler, Ward Baxter, James Andrew Burton, Jay Easton, Lee Elderton and Al Scholl should have been on this record.

Extra big thanks to everyone involved for making this (furious) dream a reality.
Thank you Adnan Marquez, Andrew Pask, Tom McNally, Kris Tiner and Michael Dessen for making it to San Diego.
Thank you - Kelly, Julia, Elliott and Henry Hubbard, Rick Helzer, Steve Langdon (turrets), Nazo Zakkak, Ellen Weller, Pat Pfiffner, Barry Guy, Michael Dessen, Return To One (beginning), Kris Apple (multiplicity), Arthur Lyman, Gerry Hemingway, Andrea Wolper, Greg Buhlert (namer), Harley Dave Magsino, Scott Rosenberg, Billy Vaughn, Marcos Fernandes, Justin Grinnell (locksmith), New Art Orchestra, Riley Fleck, the Builders Association of Encinitas, Nina Deering (insistence), Borborygmus, Shadowfigure, the ghosts and the owl.

Nate Atwood, this is all your fault.
"How did we get here?" - David Golia
This way leads home.


all rights reserved



Orenda Records Los Angeles, California

"Orenda Records punches above its weight... informed by rock, modern classical, and jazz, and combine these genres in a natural, organic fashion... Orenda’s musicians grew up in a post-Braxton era where musical styles are viewed on a continuum rather than as individual silos of expression."
–Avant Music News
... more

contact / help

Contact Orenda Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Furiously Dreaming, you may also like: